AI-based automated retinal image analysis is showing immense promise for the future of disease diagnosis and monitoring. Integrating automated systems in clinical practice and screening programs will help meeting the challenges of constantly growing patient volumes, increasing efficiency, cost-effectiveness and accessibility of care.

In this video, Anat Loewenstein, MD, and Srinivas Sadda, MD, share their experience in the field and discuss the way ahead for the integration of these technologies in clinical practice.



Anat Loewenstein, MD, MHA, IVEG member, is Vice Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Sidney Fox Chair of Ophthalmology at Tel Aviv University, Chairman of Ophthalmology at Sourasky Medical Center. She is currently President of the Israeli ophthalmological society and President Elect of EURETINA.

She is a pioneer of innovative technologies for early detection of macular degeneration, home monitoring and augmented reality surgery. Prof. Loewenstein has published more than 400 papers in peer reviewed journals, and contributed multiple chapters to ophthalmology textbooks. She received multiple international awards in most prestigious societies, including the Michealson Award and Arnall Patz Medal from the Macula Society, the Achievement Award from the American Academy of Ophthalmology and the Rosario Brancato Retina Award.

Prof. Loewenstein is Chair of the Israel Ministry of Health’s ethics committee and a member of the National Council of Surgery and anesthesia. She serves as Editor of the Journal Case Reports in Ophthalmology, as editorial board member of the Graefes Archives of Clinical and Experimental Ophthalmology and Investigative Ophthalmology of Visual Science, and reviewer for Ophthalmology, The American Journal of Ophthalmology, Graefes Archives of Clinical and Experimental Ophthalmology and Investigative Ophthalmology of Visual Science.

She is General secretary of EURETINA, Israeli representative in the European Society of Ophthalmology (SOE),  Israeli representative), International Representative to the Macula Society Executive Board,

The Macula Society (* since 2012- The International Representative to the Macula Society Executive Board), and Chair of the Academia Ophthalmologica Internationalis.


SriniVas R. Sadda, MD, FARVO, is the Director of Artificial Intelligence & Imaging Research at the Doheny Eye Institute, and Professor of Ophthalmology at the University of California – Los Angeles (UCLA) Geffen School of Medicine. He is the immediate past President of the Doheny Eye Institute.

Dr. Sadda’s major research interests include retinal image analysis, advanced retinal imaging technologies, and clinical trial endpoint design. He is the author of more than 725 peer-reviewed publications and 20 book chapters, and has given over 500 presentations worldwide. Dr. Sadda is Editor-in-Chief of the 7th Edition of Ryan’s Retina. He also serves as an Editor-in-Chief of Graefe’s Archive for Clinical and Experimental Ophthalmology and is an editorial board member of Ophthalmic Surgery, Lasers & Imaging, Retina, Ophthalmology Retina, Ophthalmology Science and Ophthalmology.

Among Dr. Sadda’s awards and honors are a Research to Prevent Blindness Physician-Scientist Award, a Senior Honor Award from the American Society of Retina Specialists, an Achievement Award and a Secretariat Award from the American Academy of Ophthalmology, John H. Zumberge Research and Innovation Award, the Macula Society’s Young Investigator Award, American Society of Retina Specialists Young Investigator Award, Asia-Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology (APAO) Achievement Award, The Macula Society’s Paul Henkind Lecture and Award, the Euretina Lecture, The Retina Society’s Charles Schepens Lecture, and the Vitreoretinal Society of India Nataraja Pillai Oration.

He is also President of the Macula Society and President-Elect for the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology. Dr. Sadda’s research has been continuously funded by the National Institutes of Health for several years, including two current R01 grants from the National Eye Institute. He has been named to the Best Doctors of America list for several consecutive years.